Loading Events

« All Events

Meet & Greet Book Signing with Jennifer Moorhead

July 13 • 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Join us for a special Meet & Greet Book Signing with Jennifer Moorhead as we celebrate her debut crime thriller “Broken Bayou”
This event is free and open to the public and will take place in our upstairs event space.

Set in small-town Louisiana, perfect for fans of “A Flicker in the Dark” and “Sharp Objects”

An atmospheric debut that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Broken Bayou had me hooked from the first page!
— Ashley Elston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of First Lie Wins

 

Dr. Willa Watters is a prominent child psychologist at the height of her career. But when a viral video of a disastrous television interview puts her reputation on the line, Willa retreats to Broken Bayou, the town where she spent most of her childhood summers. There she visits her aunts’ old house and discovers some of her unstable mother’s belongings still languishing in the attic–dusty mementos harboring secrets of her harrowing past.

Willa’s hopes for a respite are quickly crushed, not only by what she finds in that attic but also by what’s been found in the bayou.

With waters dropping due to drought, mysterious barrels containing human remains have surfaced, alongside something else from Willa’s past, something she never thought she’d see again. Divers, police, and media flood the area, including a news reporter gunning for Willa and Travis Arceneaux–a local deputy and old flame.

Willa’s fate seems eerily tied to the murders. And with no one to trust, she must use her wits to stay above water and make it out alive.


Jennifer Moorhead graduated from Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge. Geaux Tigers! She has written and produced three indie short films that each made top 20 at the Louisiana Film Prize and were awarded at festivals around the world. She lives in Louisiana with her husband, two needy doodles, one very un-needy shelter kitty, and a plethora of farm animals. Her grown daughters are off creating their own life stories. When she’s not writing, she’s photographing the swamps and winding trails in her backyard or she’s on a tennis court laughing and providing job security for her coach.

Details

Date:
July 13
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Venue

Blue Cypress Books
8123 Oak Street
New Orleans, LA 70118 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
15043520096