Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Banter with Byron Lane

May 11, 2023 • 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Event Series Event Series (See All)

We are delighted to welcome author Byron Lane to Book Banter!

Book Banter is a free, fun, interactive (you can ask questions and we will answer them during the event), event that streams live. Join the conversation on Facebook or YouTube!

My heart grew three sizes reading Big Gay Wedding. This charming book had me snorting unattractively, laughing uncontrollably, and ugly crying in between. A poignant delight from start to finish. Read it, damn it! Just read it!
—Bianca Marais, bestselling author of The Witches of Moonshyne Manor

 

 

An unashamedly proud, loud, and hilarious novel about a small town that’s forever changed by a big gay wedding, perfect for fans of Red, White & Royal Blue and The Guncle

Two grooms. One mother of a problem.

Barnett Durang has a secret. No, not THAT secret. His widowed mother has long known he’s gay. The secret is Barnett is getting married. At his mother’s farm. In their small Louisiana town. She just doesn’t know it yet.

It’ll be an intimate affair. Just two hundred or so of the most fabulous folks Barnett is shipping in from the “heathen coasts,” as Mom likes to call them, turning her quiet rescue farm for misfit animals into a most unlikely wedding venue.

But there are forces, both within this modern new family and in the town itself, that really don’t want to see this handsome couple march down the aisle. It’ll be the biggest, gayest event in the town’s history if they can pull it off, and after a glitter-filled week, nothing will ever be the same. Big Gay Wedding is an uplifting book about the power of family and the unconditional love of a mother for her son.


Byron Lane is an author, playwright, and screenwriter. His latest novel, Big Gay Wedding, is about a family and town forever changed by a gay marriage. His debut novel, A Star is Bored, is inspired by his time as assistant to actress Carrie Fisher and hailed by The New York Times Book Review as “wildly funny.” He’s an Emmy Award-winning former journalist and lives in Palm Springs, California with his husband, author Steven Rowley, and their rescue dogs, Raindrop and Shirley.

Details

Date:
May 11, 2023
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Series:
Event Category:

Venue

Virtual