Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Banter with Bethany Mangle

February 29 • 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Event Series Event Series (See All)

We are excited to welcome author Bethany Mangle to Book Banter! We will be discussing her newest book, Conditions of A Heart.

Book Banter is a free, fun, interactive (you can ask questions and we will answer them during the event), event that streams live. Join the conversation on Facebook or YouTube

 

For fans of Talia Hibbert and Lynn Painter comes a funny and unflinchingly honest story about a teen who must come to terms with her disability and what it means for her identity, her love life, and her future.

Brynn Kwan is desperate for her high school persona to be real. That Brynn is head of the yearbook committee, the favorite for prom queen, and definitely not crumbling from a secret disability that’s rapidly wearing her down. If no one knows the truth about her condition, Brynn doesn’t have to worry about the pitying looks or accusations of being a faker that already destroyed her childhood friendships. She’s even willing to let go of her four-year relationship with her first love, Oliver, rather than reveal that a necessary surgery was the reason she ignored his existence for the entire summer.

But after Brynn tries to break up a fight at a pep rally and winds up barred from all her clubs and senior prom, she has nothing left to prop up her illusion of being just like everyone else. During a week-long suspension from school, she realizes that she doesn’t quite recognize the face in the mirror—and it’s not because of her black eye from the fight. With a healthy sister who simply doesn’t understand and a confused ex-boyfriend who won’t just take a hint and go away like a normal human being, Brynn begins to wonder if it’s possible to reinvent her world by being the person she thought no one wanted: herself.


Bethany Mangle is the author of the Prepped, All the Right Reasons, and Conditions of a Heart. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys spoiling her dogs, playing video games, and spending time with her unbearably nerdy husband. She moves too much to put a location in her bio ever again. Visit her at BethanyMangle.com.

Details

Date:
February 29
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Series:
Event Category:

Venue

Virtual

Organizer

Blue Cypress Books
Phone
504-352-0096
Email
team@bluecypressbooks.com