Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

**POSTPONED** An Evening with Diana Helmuth

January 29 • 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

This event has been POSTPONED. We will reschedule as soon as possible.

Join us Monday January 29th at 6 pm for an evening with Diana Helmuth to celebrate her book, The Witching Year: A Memoir of Earnest Fumbling Through Modern Witchcraft.

This event is free and open to the public.

A skeptic’s year-long quest to find spiritual fulfillment through modern Witchcraft, perfect for fans of A.J. Jacobs and Mary Roach.

Diana Helmuth, thirty-three, is skeptical of organized religion. She is also skeptical of disorganized religion. But, more than anything, she is tired of God being dead. So, she decides to try on the fastest growing, self-directed faith in America: Witchcraft.

The result is 366 days of observation, trial, error, wit, and back spasms. Witches today are often presented as confident and finished, proud and powerful. Diana is eager to join them. She wants to follow all the rules, memorize all the incantations, and read all the liturgy. But there’s one glaring problem: no Witch can agree on what the right rules, liturgy, and incantations are.

As with life, Diana will have to define the craft for herself, looking past the fashionable and figuring out how to define the real. Along the way, she travels to Salem and Edinburgh (two very Crafty hubs) and attends a week-long (clothing optional) Witch camp in Northern California. Whether she’s trying to perform a full moon ritual on a cardboard box, summon an ancient demon with scotch tape and a kitchen trivet, or just trying to become a calmer, happier person, her biggest question remains: Will any of this really work?

The Witching Year follows in the footsteps of celebrated memoirs by journalists like A.J. Jacobs, Mary Roach, and Caitlin Doughty, who knit humor and reportage together in search of something worth believing.


Diana Helmuth writes about urges: to travel, to be in nature, and to feel understood. Her first book, How to Suffer Outside, was a National Outdoor Book Award winner, and her freelance work can be found in various anthologies, travel guides and humor magazines. She studied Anthropology and Arabic at UC Berkeley, and can often be caught moonlighting in Silicon Valley’s start-up land, or producing the occasional podcast. She was born and raised in Northern California.

Details

Date:
January 29
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Venue

Blue Cypress Books
8123 Oak Street
New Orleans, LA 70118 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
15043520096

Organizer

Blue Cypress Books
Phone
504-352-0096
Email
team@bluecypressbooks.com